Algorand investors doubts

Hi, I recently joined the Algorand community and I’m an economist without a technical background.
I think that Algorand technological approach is great but from an investor point of view I have lots of doubts after reviewing the Algorand’s webpages (Inc, Foundation and Community).

I’m going to post them in separate posts.
Here goes the first ones:

1. The Algorand foundation will keep 2.5b Algos “to participate in consensus”. Isn’t that go against decentralization?
  2. “In the future we will introduce additional incentive mechanisms to ensure long term infrastructure support and health." Same question…Isn’t that go against decentralization?

Hi Gonzo,

I just stumbled onto these (good) questions by accident; sorry for the late response.

To answer your questions and assuming that I fully understand them, I would say, no.

First of all, the sortition method, i.e. choosing a leader and a verification set out of all participants, is by default decentralized. What Algorand is saying is that they want to reward those who are selected to participate in consensus. Note that there is no way, you, Algorand, or anybody else can influence this process. In other words it is a selection Algorithm that chooses Randomly the consensus participants — hence the name Algorand — and those selected will get awarded (obviously not done by someone sitting behind a desk pressing a button, but all done via an algorithm). You can read it all here: https://allquantor.at/blockchainbib/pdf/gilad2017algorand.pdf

I don’t know why “introducing additional incentive mechanisms to ensure long term infrastructure support and health,” would go against decentralization.

My two cents. Don’t take this as an official response, but I hope this is useful.

[EDIT: Please find the official Algorand explanation in the links given below]

Thanks for the feedback.