Inner transactions vs. logic signature

Hi there,
I am a developer interested in getting started with writing some dApps on Algorand. Reading through the documentation since yesterday the following things still have me confused:

If a smart contract is funded by sending Algos to its address, there appear to be two ways to issue transactions from it to other addresses: Use a smart signature to sign the transaction(s), which will be able to transfer funds or assets when its logic function returns true, or use inner transactions within an application smart contract.

1. When a program is compiled in the Signature mode with PyTeal, can it still be deployed like a normal smart contract, or contract account, or can it only be used as a logic signature?
  2. Can a smart contract act as an application and a contract account at the same time, that is, it can implement operations that access local/global data and also be used to sign transactions?
  3. Since inner transactions exist, what is the use case for smart signatures? Wouldn’t it just be easier to implement an operation on a contract that uses inner transactions to send funds instead of validating external transactions that could pose as a potentially much greater security risk?

That’s true.
However, nowadays, except for very rare corner cases, the proper way is to only use inner transactions.
This allows much better composability (smart contracts cannot make inner transactions with logicsigs in particular).

I believe the binary would be compatible, though this is not recommended.
In addition, signature mode disables a lot of features (all those relying on state) making it almost impossible to write a real smart contract in Signature mode.

I’m not completely sure what would happen.
For sure, if an opcode using state is executed in a logicsig mode, it will fail.
What I’m not sure on the top of my head about is whether the mere existence of the opcode in the bytecode would make the program fail or not.