Mergeable Tokens on Algorand

I’m currently looking into evaluating different smart contract platforms to implement mergeable tokens for an insurance crowd sourcing use case. These tokens have a few numerical properties, foremost value and risk. Value behaves similar to a fungible ASA. There are two dissimilarities though:

1. Exactly 2 mergeable tokens can be combined, producing a single output mergeable token
  2. The output risk value is the average of the two input risk values

What is a good starting place to implement this in TEAL? I think I have a rough idea of how to approach this in Solidity but I am completely new to Algorand so any pointers are much appreciated.

Thank you

You may be able to do this with a combination of smart contracts and ASAs where the contract handles the merge. You would need to give more information on what you need to be sure. Another option is to build it all in a stateful smart contract where the data per user is stored in local storage. The contract could handle extra properties and doing the combine operation. The only issue with using a stateful smart contract is the default wallets don’t show these as ASAs currently when listing balances. The stateful smart contract documentation is here: Algorand Developer Docs
You also may want to watch this video to get started with writing smart contracts: Algorand Partner Training | Overview of Stateful and Stateless Smart Contracts - YouTube

1 Like

Thank you, Jason. Yes, it would be excellent to describe these as non-fungible ASA. However, I’m unclear how to express the additional data in an ASA:

β”Œβ”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”β”Œ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─  β”Œβ”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”β”Œ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ ─ 
      β”‚          ASA1          β”‚ Additional Values β”‚ β”‚          ASA2          β”‚ Additional Values β”‚