Smart Contract for fetching transaction note field

Hi All,

I am a newbie to TEAL and smart contracts on Algorand. After reading through the documentation I have some fair idea about how the ASC1 works. So the question would be, I am designing a smart contract system where all the nodes create a transaction with their own separate hash value(hash value to some important data) in the note field which could to be fetched later by other nodes. Later for a node other than the transaction creator to fetch this data in the note field I want to create a contract which checks the cost set by the transaction creator and pays them to receive this data.

I am not aware if we can have such a complex logic build into TEAL. It’s more of a vending system where the nodes pay to receive this data from the transactions created by the owners. And if possible not to pay twice if the data is already paid for.

Thanks

I don’t think it is possible, because ASC1 can’t access the transaction data already on the blockchain.
Best regards,
Maugli

Hey Maugli. Thanks for the response . I also thought the same but I read about attaching contracts to transaction somewhere.

I was wondering If you know a better way to solve such a problem. Since TEAL will not support the purpose. Any suggestions??

You can submit more than one transaction together, executed together, that is true.
This is how atomic swap contract was done, a very elequent example of TEAL.
But the data already on the blockchain cannot be accessed using ASC1, i.e. TEAL

I wonder what will ASC2 look like, and when will the Algorand developers unveil it.

And a roadmap with dates would also be very useful, e.g. when will they introduce
Vault, ASC2, sharding, subchains, ZEC-like anonymous transfer of value, etc.

The atomic swap is a good choice. With the new developer documentation pages it makes it better to understand these concepts.