Algorand Contract Cost

I am brand new to the community. I am a mathematician with a strong software engineering background. I am reading the documentation for TEAL, ASA and ASC-1. Here are the things I care for about which I cannot find good information about:

1. What is the cost of executing calls to a smart contract? Both, computationally and in Algos.
  2. Even better, what is the formula?
    2.a Is it (ops)*(cost of ops) + knownFee? How much does each op cost in Algos?
  3. What is the cost of moving ASA around from a wallet to another?
    3.a Even better, what determines this cost? In Algos please. A formula would be nice.

On a related but dissimilar note: could ASA created on Algorand become list on exchanges at some point?

Thank you!

The minimum fee per transaction does not depend on the type of transaction: payment in Algos, transfer of ASA, smart contract call, …
It is always 0.001 Algo. In case of congestion, nodes require a minimum fee per byte, but again this is independent of smart contracts.

Smart contracts execution time/cost and size are restricted as explained there: The Smart Contract Language - Algorand Developer Portal

Furthermore, when you “opt-in” or “create” a smart contract, your account’s minimum balance increases. See Overview - Algorand Developer Portal

ASA also requires min balance. See Assets - Algorand Developer Portal

See Algorand Parameter Tables - Algorand Developer Portal for a table with parameters.

1 Like

@fabrice Thank you.

A couple of follow up questions:

1. Could you please explain the purpose and mechanics of the
    “Minimum Balance” requirement?
    1.a Are these just Algos required to be in the account that created the ASA/ASC-1 for the duration of the existence of that ASA/ASC-1? Do they get consumed at any point? Do they get returned when the ASA/ASC-1 is deleted/burned/retired-from-the-blockchain?

2. When an ASA is created, who gets the opt-in charge of every user that opts-in the ASA?