Newbie's question about ASA minting

Hi, I’m a real newbie to Algorand and I have a question about ASA.

In Ethereum, minting a mintable token is usually done on a smart contract running on EVM, so all the already-minted tokens are sort of ‘validated’ by the contract.

However, as far as I know, process of creating an Asset in Algorand is not done on VM or something like that so the validation cannot be done during the ‘minting’ process. Maybe the only way to validate already-minted tokens is to check the MetaDataHash parameter of the tokens.

Then how can you ‘invalidate’ or remove those fake tokens on the Algo chain? (I think) it would be possible for somebody to make a fake token with the same name but false MetaDataHash to cheat and make an exchange with another naive user as if the token is real.

How can I prevent such a thing from happening?

Welcome to Algorand!

Actually, the attack you mention is also true for Ethereum.

Anyone can create a smart contract minting tokens with any name on Ethereum, the same way anyone can create a token with any name on Algorand.
A user may get cheated the same way on both chains: by having an exchange selling a fake token with the name of a valuable real token.

On Algorand, the only way to accurately identify a token is via its “asset ID”, which is ensured to be completely unique.
In addition, if you trust a given account, you may just check this account is the “creator” of the token.

On Ethereum, this is more complex: to identify a token, you need to know the smart contract address, the token ID, and in addition you need to check the smart contract is a legit one.
Indeed, anyone can create smart contract with the ERC-20/ERC-721/ERC-1155 interfaces that actually allow for example to mint more tokens than claimed for example. There is no such risk on Algorand as tokens (called ASA) are a layer-1 feature and token parameters are immutable.