Building doesn't build network effect, engaging does

Over the past year, I have seen a lot of initiatives to encourage developers to build new projects on Algorand. While having legitimate projects is certainly important for success, it is not enough on its own to ensure victory. To illustrate this point, imagine that five legitimate projects suddenly appeared. If there is no one active around to use them, they cannot thrive. The community needs to be ready when they appear otherwise it can be pretty demotivating if there’s a lack of engagement.

I have noticed that there is currently a low level of engagement and activity within our community. This is not to say that we do not have a community at all, but rather that most people are lurking and not actively participating. I am not an expert in this field, but it seems to me that engagement is crucial for creating a network effect. The official discord has many helpful people, but the general discussions are not very active. From what I’ve learned in the past communities, what needs to happen is active community discussions where people learn about each other and bond. I may be missing something, but I’m not sure there’s such a thing around.

At the moment, the discord is much more similar to stack overflow, with the most common pattern being:

A: How do I do X?
B: Run this command