How big can the Algorand Blockchain get before problems start occurring?

I’m quite new to the crypto space and only recently discovered about ALGO and I feel like it offers to right incentives for the payment/contract system to an app that I’m working on. My only other experience with defi was with stellar and the more limited sdk that it uses so that’s the only comparison I can use.

This article was posted 8 months ago had a 10 year 2TB timeline for the blockchain. And the individual suggested it was a way overestimate.

However, according the current figures (3.5 year period), an Index Node is already at 1.5TB. I’m not sure if a full node needs both Index and Archival Node data but it seems like growth may not be linear.

https://developer.algoscan.app/analytics

I’m curious how big the blockchain can get without the size of the blockchain getting out of hand ie. 10TB?, 1000TB? 1000000TB? What might be some potential issues with a huge blockchain and are there any measure in place to solve this?

Welcome to Algorand!

Here are some explanations for the discrepancies you noticed:

• The indexer does not just store raw blocks but also many other data it computes, including indexes to facilitate search of information in the blockchain. That is why it is also much bigger than than the size of an archival node: https://developer.algoscan.app/analytics (compare archival node = 820GB, indexer = 1448GB). Future versions of indexers may just store the data required by a specific dApp and hence significantly reduce need for storage. (Note that an indexer is not at all required as part of running an archival node and many blockchains actually do not even provide an indexer themselves.)
  • Archival node size is closer to the actual size of the blockchain. It is currently 820GB (see link above). This is much more than estimated in the reddit comment for a couple of reasons: