How the blocks are filling during the network stress?

Hello everyone,

I’m a PhD student in the Computer Science department at USF. My current research focuses on performance modeling and evaluation of public blockchains, specifically Algorand.

Firstly, I want to express my gratitude for this environment. There are highly technical and valuable posts here, and I have learned a lot.

Currently, I am conducting an experiment, specifically a stress test on Algorand. I am analyzing how blocks fill during periods of high traffic. My goal is to determine whether all 10,000 transactions sent to the network will be included in the next block (given its capacity for 10,000 transactions), or if they will be spread across several upcoming blocks.

I would greatly appreciate your insights and experiences in this area.

Thank you.

1 Like

A single node likely won’t let you put enough transactions into it fast enough to fill a block like that just do to the efficiencies of the REST API, and rate limiting that will likely kick in. You’ll likely need to hit multiple nodes (either through load-balancer or explicit config), have injectors that properly uses multiple simultaneous (and in true parallel!) connections and just slam transactions in from multiple senders to multiple nodes. You need to get traffic in from lots of sources to get the mempool high enough to really fill the blocks.
It shouldn’t be too difficult.

Thank you for your helpful reply. I would like to share my observations.

EXPERIMENT:

I signed 1000 transactions and sent all of the signed transactions to the network at one time using Algod and kmd. I did this 30 times. My code to do this is Algorand_stress_tester/stress_tester/worker.py at main · moludesmaili/Algorand_stress_tester · GitHub

OBSERVATION: