Algorand Environment on Mac

Hi,

I am new to Algorand, i am trying to setup an environment for development, i started a node, but i am not able to install the devTools, i dunno i am missing, i tried to go through all the documentation again, but didn’t find anything helpful.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks.

Welcome @zeeshanmazhar glad you are here, let’s get you sorted :slight_smile:

Please help me understand the documentation you followed already, so I can make changes to improve going forward. Did you read within the README.md of the GitHub repo, or a page(s) within the Developer Portal? It seems you have algod running by now. It’s not clear if your node is in sync yet, so can you try goal node status and post back the results. You will need to be in sync prior to broadcasting your first transaction.

1 Like

Hey Ryan,

Thanks for your reply.

I think i am missing something, i followed the instruction from Here

When i run the goal node status, it shows me an error “zsh: command not found: goal”.

Seems like goal is not in your PATH. The installer should take care to add it. What do you find in your ~/node directory?
$ ls -la ~/node

You can see the node directory files in the attached screenshot :

Good news: you have everything installed as expected. I see tealdbg and other devTools. So, this folder must not be in your PATH. Confirm by reviewing the results from:

$ echo $PATH

It needs to include ~/node in that string. It’s possible you can resolve this by closing your established terminal session and starting a new one, as the $PATH is established when the session begins (not updated by the installer).

this shows me :

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/Apple/usr/bin

Can you please check this?

Right, I see the install script for Mac is not setting the $PATH as expected. Therefore, you must set it manually for now (I’ll raise a ticket to correct this behavior).

$ export PATH=$PATH:~/node