Self guided study group

A bit about myself

I’m new to Algorand development and have found it to be a steep learning curve. I want to create a community that removes the barrier to entry for those interested in learning, regardless of their technical background. In my experience, this can be achieved through the collaboration of other like-minded people.

When I decided that I wanted to learn how to code in 2018, I started my journey by creating a weekly Python meetup at my local brewery in the San Francisco Bay Area. I was introduced to so many concepts, tools, and technologies. It wasn’t long until I was reserving large sections of pubs, helping others with Python, and meeting professional developers. It grew to 600 members in one year.

I want to attempt to start something similar for learning Algorand development, but virtual. I have a self guided study group in mind that I want to share with you…

Algorand Bites

A github repo consisting of a collection of pre-defined challenges (not tutorials). They would start out simple, and continually progress in difficulty. (Each challenge would look something like this). Challenges would be designed to be self paced, and be finished in less than an hour.

Make it social… this is where the magic happens

Every Saturday, a video conference would be held with a corresponding breakout room for each challenge. Participants would enter their desired room to discuss the solution with others. This is a great way to progress as a developer because you can learn, teach, and make friends in the process.

Since it’s self paced, you can:

• Proceed on to the next challenge/ breakout room for the following week
  • Enter into the same room next week and become a mentor

Here’s what I have in mind for week 1:

Using an official Algorand SDK:

• Generate 2 new wallets
  • Send ALGO to first wallet using the Algorand Dispenser
  • Send 10 ALGO (via testnet) from first wallet to second wallet